Last update11:11:07

Back Home

Joe Burrow Wins the 2019 Heisman Trophy

  • PDF
Usar puntuación: / 1

joe burrow01NEW YORK — LSU quarterback Joe Burrow has won the 2019 Heisman Trophy, cementing his place in program and SEC lore after one of the most impressive seasons by a passer in the history of the sport.   

Burrow's Heisman win has been a foregone conclusion since early November, when he keyed LSU's 46-41 win at rival Alabama — the Tigers' first win in the series since 2011 — by completing 31 of 39 attempts for 393 yards and three touchdowns without an interception. He only broadened his lead in the weeks since, capping the Tigers' unbeaten season with another four touchdowns against Georgia in the SEC championship game. LSU will enter the postseason as the top seed in the College Football Playoff.
LSU quarterback Joe Burrow celebrates after a touchdown pass against Georgia during the 2019 SEC championship game at Mercedes-Benz Stadium.

Oklahoma quarterback Jalen Hurts and Ohio State quarterback Justin Fields and defensive lineman Chase Young were the other finalists for the award.

As the engine behind LSU's revitalized offense, Burrow rewrote the school and conference record book and is on pace to set a Bowl Subdivision record for completion percentage.

His numbers during the regular season almost defy imagination: Burrow has set LSU and SEC marks for passing yards (4,715) and passing touchdowns (48), and school records for completions (342) and total offense (5,004). He currently holds the LSU record for passing yards per game (362.7) and total offense per game (384.9), and his 77.9 completion percentage is on pace to break the NCAA record set by Texas quarterback Colt McCoy in 2008.

Blessed with a gifted supporting cast that includes two USA TODAY Sports All-America selections in wide receiver Ja'Marr Chase and running back Clyde-Edwards Helaire, Burrow threw for at least 278 yards in every game, exceeding the 300-yard mark in every game but two; completed at least 71.1% of his passes in every game; and threw for multiple touchdowns in every game but one, with seven games of four or more touchdowns.

"I don’t care about the numbers," said Burrow. "I care about the wins. We’re 13-0 and that’s all that matters."

The win belies Burrow's off-the-radar charge for the Heisman.

Coming out of Athens, Ohio, where his father was the defensive coordinator at Ohio University, Burrow was a four-star recruit and the state's Gatorade Player of the Year. He signed with Ohio State, wore a redshirt as a true freshman and spent the following two seasons as a backup to multiple-year starter J.T. Barrett, playing in 10 games with 39 pass attempts in mop-up duty.

With Dwayne Haskins entrenched as Barrett's replacement heading out of the 2017 season, Burrow took advantage of the NCAA's graduate-transfer rule to join LSU with immediate eligibility — joining a program with a long history of success but a troubled recent track record of quarterback play and development.

As the starter in 2018, he led LSU to a 10-3 record and became the first quarterback in program history to throw for at least 2,500 yards and rush for at least 350 yards in the same season. Yet he was ranked in the bottom half of the SEC among starting quarterbacks in the key statistics: Burrow ranked seventh in passing yards per game, tied for 10th in touchdowns and 11th in completion percentage.

As with LSU as a whole, Burrow was the beneficiary of coach Ed Orgeron's decision this past offseason to completely overhaul the Tigers' tired offensive scheme by hiring passing game coordinator Joe Brady, who won the Broyles Award as the nation's top assistant coach.

Not even listed by many oddsmakers as a preseason candidate for the Heisman, Burrow surged past more heralded quarterback candidates — namely Alabama junior Tua Tagovailoa and Clemson sophomore Trevor Lawrence — to become the second player in program history to win the award after Billy Cannon in 1959.

No. 1 LSU will meet No. 4 Oklahoma in a national semifinal at the Peach Bowl on Dec. 28 as the Tigers search for their third national championship since 2003 and fourth overall. No Heisman-winning quarterback has won the national championship during the playoff era, though USC's Matt Leinart (2004), Auburn's Cam Newton (2010) and Florida State's Jameis Winston (2013) did so under the Bowl Championship Series format.

"After tonight, it’s go time," Burrow said.